Marvin Lewis and Mike Zimmer Selected as Head Coaches for the 2024 Polynesian Bowl


(August 8, 2023) — The Polynesian Bowl announced today that Marvin Lewis and Mike Zimmer have been selected as head coaches for the 2024 Polynesian Bowl. The Polynesian Bowl is an annual all-star game featuring 100 of the nation’s top senior high school football players. The Polynesian Bowl, presented by the Polynesian Football Hall of Fame, will be broadcast live and in PRIMETIME on NFL Network on Friday, January 19, 2024 at 9:00 PM ET (4:00 PM HT). The game will be played at Kūnuiākea Stadium on the Kamehameha Schools Kapālama Campus.

Marvin Lewis will serve as Head Coach for Team Mauka (Mountain). Lewis was the Head Coach of the Cincinnati Bengals for 16 seasons. He also served as defensive coordinator for the Baltimore Ravens from 1996 to 2001. In 2000, his defense set the record for the fewest points allowed in a season and helped carry the Ravens to their first Super Bowl victory in Super Bowl XXXV. He was named AP Coach of the Year in 2009. He currently serves as a special advisor to the head coach at Arizona State.


"I am honored to be selected as the head coach of Team Mauka,” said Marvin Lewis. “Football unites people from all walks of life and it's a privilege to mentor and guide these young athletes on and off the field.”

Mike Zimmer will serve as the Head Coach for Team Makai (Ocean). Zimmer served as the Head Coach of the Minnesota Vikings from 2014 to 2021. He also served as defensive coordinator for the Dallas Cowboys (2006), Atlanta Falcons (2007), and Cincinnati Bengals (2008-2013). In 2017, he led the Vikings to a 13-3 record and one of the best seasons in franchise history. He won Super Bowl XXX as a defensive backs coach with the Cowboys and was named NFL Assistant Coach of the Year in 2009 with the Bengals.


“I am thrilled to be part of the Polynesian Bowl,” said Mike Zimmer. “It's incredible to witness the talent and passion these players bring to the game. Let's make it an unforgettable experience and a celebration of football and cultural excellence!”

Coaches Lewis and Zimmer join an impressive list of Polynesian Bowl head coaches, including June Jones (2017 & 2022), Dick Vermeil (2018), Terry Donahue (2018), Jim Zorn (2019), Steve Spurrier (2020), Frank Beamer (2020), Doug Williams (2022), Romeo Crennel (2023) and Mark Richt (2023). 


The Polynesian Bowl is a premier all-star game played annually in Honolulu, Hawai’i, and features 100 of the nation’s top ranked high school seniors of Polynesian and non-Polynesian ancestry alike – many who have gone on to play in the NFL. The game has become the most sought-after all-star football invitation – a rapid rise from the inaugural game in 2017. Past MVPs include top-rated players Travis Hunter and Nico Iameleava. Major partners include adidas, Microsoft Surface Pro, BodyArmor, Riddell, Friends of Hawaii Charities, Hawaiian Airlines, HBCTC, Hawaii News Now and World Wide Safety. For more information, go to PolynesianBowl.com


The Polynesian Football Hall of Fame honors Polynesia’s greatest players, coaches, and contributors. Its permanent home is located at the Polynesian Cultural Center (Laie, Hawai’i) and was established in 2013 by Super Bowl Champions Jesse Sapolu and Ma’a Tanuvasa. Other board members include Troy Polamalu, Vai Sikahema, June Jones and Reno Mahe. There are currently 44 inductees. The Polynesian Football Hall of Fame has provided over $300,000 in college scholarships to date. For more information, go to PolynesianFootballHOF.org.